There are many things we should be thankful for. Many of us just don’t stop and appreciate what we have nowadays. I am sometimes guilty of this myself. As I write in this blog, the first thing that comes to mind is the appreciation of what I already have, and the things I must continue to do to ensure my family leads a happy and fulfilling life. I am also thankful that we have the ability and opportunity to be able to travel to The Smoky Mountains every year. This posting is going to spotlight the things I am thankful for when we reach our destination. There is so much to love about Gatlinburg, so since we will be stuffing our faces with some good home cooking today, I will tell you what I am thankful for in terms of food and drink in the city.

T

Teriyaki steak at Cherokee Grill- Brown sugar, honey, and pineapple on a 10 oz. sirloin. Does it get much better? I don’t think so.

H

Helles Lager at Smoky Mountain Brewery- Plenty of good craft beers to be found here and this one is my favorite.

A

Apple Pancake at Atrium- This might be the best breakfast item on the menu at any restaurant in town. Don’t try to eat this without help.

N

Neva’s Potatoes at Cherokee Grill- One of our favorite restaurants in town also has one of the best side items you’ll find.

K

Kilwin’s- This is one of our favorite sweet spots in town. They are somewhat national but they have excellent fudge and ice cream.

F

Fannie Farkle’s- An arcade on the Parkway with some addicting games and some fantastic corn dogs.

U

Ultimate Super Duper Brisket Burger- I admit I’ve never had this before, but it is on the menu at Bennett’s Pit BBQ, a frequently visited restaurant.

L

Lemonade Moonshine at Sugarlands Distillery- This is just one of many good flavors of shine they’ve created here.

Happy Thanksgiving everyone!

 

 

