It was the summer of 2010. My wife and I were starving for a new vacation experience and walked into our local AAA office to get some ideas. I glanced over at the brochures and found one that featured the iconic Dolly Parton on the cover promoting her hometown Sevierville, Tennessee. Needless to say, we walked out of the office that day confident that we were going to plan on going to the Great Smoky Mountains in 2011.

Fast forward to June 2011. We made our very first visit to the east Tennessee mountains, thus beginning our love affair with the town of Gatlinburg, a picturesque town nestled in the mountains. Our plan was to only stay 3 nights, but we wanted to squeeze as many activities in as we could, since we weren’t fully convinced we would be back next year. So another night was booked and we made the most of our trip. By the time we made it back home, we were already planning for next year’s trip. In the four years since we made the first six and a half hour trip down south, we have been here six times and feel like now we can give solid, credible advice on things to see, places to eat, stores to shop, and hikes to take in the Smoky Mountains.

This site will be designed to bring the latest news, opinions, and information on the Smoky Mountains as they relate to Gatlinburg only. That’s not to say that I dislike Pigeon Forge and Sevierville. I feel like there is more than enough info on Gatlinburg alone that will keep me busy enough with the site, so I will focus my attention exclusively with the place we stay every year. I will hopefully be able to provide daily updates but that may not be possible. I want to make this site the best I can make it. I know that the passion and the enjoyment is there and I hope you the visitor enjoy it as much as I do.

